Thursday, October 29, 2009

MTV "Splash Page" wants your feedback on LUKE McBAIN

Trace Adkins is set to star in his own comic book series “Luke McBain”, courtesy of 12 Gauge Comics.

The four-issue miniseries by writer David Tischman (“Bite Club,” “Greatest Hits”), interior artist Kody Chamberlain and cover artist Brian Stelfreeze casts Adkins as Luke McBain; a man who returns to his hometown after spending 14 years in prison for a crime he didn't commit to confront his younger brother for “the soul of the community.”

The story is described as an action/crime thriller in the vein of “Billy Jack” and “Walking Tall.”

Adkins’ likeness and persona were the inspiration for Luke McBain’s character, which was then developed by Tischman and 12 Gauge publisher, Keven Gardner. The first issue is set to come out in November. Additionally, Adkins plans to sell special editions of the first issue at his upcoming concerts.

This will be the first comic book foray for Adkins—who is primarily known for being a multi-platinum selling country singer and for his appearance on “The Celebrity Apprentice.” However, Adkins is the latest celebrity to attempt to crossover into the comic book realm, joining the ranks of Milo Ventimigila and Tyrese Gibson.

12 Gauge previously published one of the more successful books involving a celebrity in other media, Rosario Dawson’s “Occult Crimes Taskforce”, which came out in 2006.

What do you think about the story of “Luke McBain”? Will this be an ideal way to bring in new comic book fans? Sound off in the comment section below or drop us a line on Twitter!

Wednesday, October 28, 2009


(Read the full interview by clicking the Title link above):

I know that you guys also have a prequel comic of sorts for ‘Boondock Saints II: All Saints Day’. What can you tell us about that project?

Yeah, that is a buddy of ours who is in the comic book business and we had always thought about doing a comic book. We are making a deal with him to do the comic book and I will have a lot to do with that. One of the reasons we did it is because fans were so interested in Il Duce’s past and that is why I addressed it in the film. They wanted to know why he became a killer, why they didn’t know that they were father and sons and what was going on with this guy. They were really interested so I responded directly to the fanbase’s inquiries and addressed it in the film and we are making a whole comic book series out of it. I think that it is just a cool idea, ya know? An Italian kid with polio and this brutal Irish guy whose father has been killed, indiscriminately killing mobsters, way back in 1950’s New York and planning out each gig to blame it on someone else, to me that type of storytelling is gold.

Tuesday, October 27, 2009


Nashville, TN (October 26, 2009) -- In addition to being a platinum-selling country artist, TRACE ADKINS has been a reality TV star, a best-selling author, and an actor. Now, he's becoming a comic book action hero. On Wednesday, November 11, 12 Gauge Comics will release LUKE McBAIN #1, the first in an original four-part comic book series. Subsequent issues will be hitting comic book stores monthly through February 2010.

The title character, Luke McBain was inspired by Adkins' likeness and persona and developed after popular comic book writer David Tischman ("Red Herring," "Greatest Hits") and 12 Gauge publisher, Keven Gardner spent time with Adkins to make the role more authentic. Each issue is full of down home Southern charm, and jam-packed with hard-hitting action that has already drawn comparisons to "Walking Tall" and "Billy Jack."

The adventure begins in the first issue as McBain returns to his Louisiana hometown after 14 years in prison, having taken the fall for a crime he didn't commit. But not everyone's happy to have him back; especially his younger brother, Paul, who runs the family business - a Mill that employs most of the town. Paul's up to no good, and only McBain has the guts to stop him. It's brother against brother, for the soul of the community.

Luke McBain comic books will also be available on Adkins' official website, www. and through the publisher's website A special limited Tour Edition of Luke McBain: #1 will be available at Adkins' concerts beginning in November. To locate a local comic book store visit or call 1-888-COMIC BOOK.

Adkins will stop by The Late Late Show with Craig Ferguson on Thursday, November 12. His latest Top 20 single, "All I Ask For Anymore" continues to climb the charts and he will soon launch a co-headlining tour with country's award-winning and powerhouse vocalist, Martina McBride on Saturday, November 21. For more of the latest news on Trace Adkins visit

Friday, October 23, 2009

Great news for Cully Hamner!

'Red' To Begin Shooting In January

By Blair Marnell

The film adaptation of Warren Ellis and Cully Hamner's “Red” will reportedly start shooting in January.

According to Mania, principle photography will begin in Toronto before moving to Louisiana. Bruce Willis is attached to star as a retired CIA Agent who is targeted for assassination. Morgan Freeman is also signed for a currently unrevealed role.

Earlier this summer, “Red” director Robert Schwentke exclusively told MTV News that the tone of the film would be much lighter than Ellis’ original story.

“I love the script," Schwentke said. "It's very funny, which the comic book isn't. I like switching gears and this is a movie that allows me to do something lighthearted in tone and is also an action movie."

At the time, Schwentke defended the change in tone as necessary due in part to the short length of the original three-issue miniseries. Mania is also reporting that screenwriters Jon and Erich Hoeber have expanded the story for the big screen; including the previously unexplored backstory of Willis’ character.

While Ellis is not directly involved in the production of “Red”, he is taking a much more active role in the film adaptation of his ongoing series “Gravel”; which Ellis will write and produce for Legendary Pictures.

Wednesday, October 21, 2009